最新动态:
                 
0
专业学者

能让学生汇聚一起分享学术和社会知识的国际机会是有限的。而世界大学生领导者研讨会对于我们的学生领导者来说正是一次很好的机会,他们可以通过这次机会学习并拓宽社会视角,同时积极探索如何改变社会。人道主义事务组织对我们所有帮助召开这次年度研讨会的利益相关者表达了感谢,而且该研讨会使学生获得了终身受用的领导经验。人道主义事务组织还赞赏了学生获得的技能,这使得学生有能力识别且能利用各种机会,从而为社区做出重大改变。合作与和平参与也一直是令人惊叹的不可或缺的技能。这些技能确保了世界大学生领导者研讨会的代表们在从社会转型领导力项目毕业时能学习到人道主义事务组织的精神。

大学生领导者研讨会(USLS)为学生们提供了绝佳的机遇,能够学习并了解在全球大背景下担当变革推手的非凡潜力。 作为一所致力于全球应用型学习模式的大学,悉尼科技大学迄今为止已经派出过55位学生参加USLS。未来,我们将继续向USLS输送学生,助力他们成长为未来领袖。
William Purcell教授
副校长
澳大利亚悉尼科技大学
大学生领导者研讨会不仅让我们的学生能够学习并成长为具有公仆意识的领袖,致力于解决当前全球面临的问题,还切实引导他们采取行动。这一点让我印象深刻。悉尼科技大学一直在寻求如何构建我们的领导力平台,努力培养能够胸怀全球的领袖。

2015年的全球领导力论坛没有让我们失望。论坛上,学生们有许多机会运用批判性思维来看待真实世界中的问题,而这将成为他们未来数年间可持续性的生活工具。

我们的学生分享了他们从全体学生中学到的东西,不断寻求合作模式。 鉴于悉尼科技大学不断丰富、令人振奋的学校环境,我相信我们的学生能够做到学以致用。
Corey A. King博士
学务副校长
美国佛罗里达大西洋大学
要成为领袖,最关键的一点是什么? 这个问题并不是关于如何成为一名领袖,或者我们需要哪些技巧才能成为领袖,而是关于我们该如何锻炼自己的领导力。在我看来,这不是为了我们自己,而是为了别人,更重要的是为了我们的社会。 我指的是领袖的社会责任。“我们的社会”不仅仅指我们的国家,还延伸至全球社区和所有人类。

USLS不仅让来自全球各地的青年学生了解了领袖必备的技能,还具备了社会责任感。 座谈会分享了来自许多全球备受尊崇的领导人的经验和灵感,这些人运用自己的领导力来帮助大家,让我们的社会和世界变得更加美好。更重要的是,通过各项活动进行学习的过程让学生们可以分析、规划并解决社会中形形色色的问题。

最棒的效果是参与者们能够互相学习。不管是学生领袖还是我本人,都愉快地学到了东西。 这让USLS成为了我过去多年来参加过的最优秀、最有意思的研讨会。
Prinya Thaewanarumitkul博士、教授
学务副校长
泰国国立法政大学
在澳大利亚纽卡斯尔大学,我们认为鼓励学生成为世界公民和未来领袖是我们应对未来全球挑战的解决之道。大学生领导者研讨会对我们的学生而言,是一次很好的体验。它鼓舞着学生在成为全球领袖的道路上发奋努力,让学生能够有机会建立全球网络,一路上为其保驾护航。
Caroline McMillen专家
校长
澳大利亚纽卡斯尔大学
我是以教师观察员的身份参加大学生领导者研讨会的,这段经历让我一生难忘。 我目睹了不同文化背景、宗教和种族的人一起工作、一起生活,相亲相爱;来自不同国家、讲不同语言的人因着一股奉献、爱护、分享、关怀、协作、热情的精神,走到了一起。

在这场研讨会上,我学到了新东西,见到了好朋友,建立并发展了朋友圈,与来自其他大学的教师观察员切磋交流,访问了许多很棒的地方,还游览了东道国的诸多名胜。 我希望能有更多人知道并分享相同的美妙机遇和非凡体验。 有机会你也可以来感悟USLS。
Severino P. Pader先生
学生服务副校长
菲律宾专业技术学院
人道主义事务协会组织的大学生领导者研讨会是一场非常棒的活动。通过聚集来自全球各地成百上千个年轻人,研讨会聚焦人道主义方面最迫切、最关键的一些挑战。 这是一次绝佳的机会,让年轻人在有利的、信息量大的环境中,直面亟待解决的问题,并且彼此建立持久的友谊。

未来要构建和平社会,全世界需要像USLS一样的举措。考文垂大学一连六年都参与了该研讨会,为此我深感骄傲。 当我带着来自12个不同国家的19位考文垂学生来到香港参加USLS时,研讨会给他们带来的影响以及他们对全球人道主义事务的洞察力,都给我留下了深刻印象。 非常感谢能让这个活动年复一年地传承下去。期待下一次的USLS。
Alpaslan Ozerdem教授
和平与和解研究中心负责人
英国考文垂大学
USLS转变了NTU学生的思考模式,拓宽了他们的眼界和思维,不仅体现在人道主义工作方面,还表现在他们对当今世界面临需求和紧迫问题上的意识和思考。USLS的讲者就真正影响全世界人类的社会原因分享自己积累的丰富经验,深深鼓舞了我们的学生;此外我们的学生还从“人人都能改变世界”中深受鼓舞。 参加USLS印象最深的一点就是:人道主义和勇气,不断保持激情和动力,始终秉承道德和信用,这些都是有效的、可持续的社会动力。 不少人已经开始探索如何奉献自己,服务别人,最基础的从身边的社区开始。
Teoh Swee Hin教授
化学生物工程学院院长
新加坡南洋理工大学
马来西亚北方大学(UUM)曾多次参加USLS,该研讨会对我们的与会者带来了裨益。

最近刚在香港落下帷幕的研讨会对15位UUM学生而言可谓一次毕生难忘的经历。在香港,繁华背后离不开对多文化、多语言的推崇。 但香港的体验会让人感悟生活不易,虽然我们祝愿您获得和平与和谐,但一切都不可以想当然。

我们参加过的历届USLS都组织得相当不错。 USLS让我们的学生可以体会到生活经历的方方面面。 如果我们没能有幸参与,没能与其他国家和当地社区的其他国际与会者沟通交流,那么学生对自己完成UUM学业后在社会中充当的角色以及社会影响的看法可能会被误导,不能长久。

Natasha Adilah开玩笑地表示:“我学到了要专注于自己设好的目标,不忘初心。”对于社会散居问题,在相同的研讨会中,Choo Weng Loon被关于残疾人所受到的误解和待遇的讨论深深触动。从整体上来说,研讨会让学生们获得了独一无二的知识和体验。 Amalina Aliyas表示:“虽然研讨会持续数天,我却感觉很短,几个既定的活动下来,我们都感觉很充实。” 通过参加USLS,与会者得到提升,留下了珍贵的记忆和专业的经验。
Abdul Malek Abdul Karim
副校长(学务和校友事务)
Universiti Utara Malaysia (马来西亚北方大学)
多年来,USLS影响了许多学生:一些人学到了知识,交到了新朋友,还有一些人互相鼓励、互相支持;座谈会培养了他们的责任心,让他们学到了如何鼓励别人不断进步。 他们学到了越是出色的人,越是谦虚,甚至意识不到自己给他人带来了怎样的影响。 这些人拥有积极向上的看法、为人诚信,有职业道德。 他们不为结果的藩篱所累,而是注重基于互敬互爱的实质性关系。 泰勒大学的商学院承诺未来一定会参加USLS的平台。
Vinitha Padmanabhan Guptan
学院院长
马来西亚泰勒大学
我有幸跟我的学生一起参加了在香港举办的USLS。 我所有的学生都告诉我,他们从这次出色的活动中学到了许多东西,他们非常乐意再次参加。

USLS是一个适合年轻人的平台,这里连通了世界,方便年轻人理解全世界不同地区的文化、宗教和观点。
Jeffrey J.P. Tsai 博士
校长
台湾亚洲大学
很高兴能有机会以教师观察员的身份参加USLS。我在两次USLS(泰国和印尼)上的经历都很棒。

我目睹了来自全球各地的代表如何转变为更具责任心的社区成员。我还目睹了我们的学者代表如何拓展了自己的领导力技能。 事实上,他们建立起了人道主义事务协会德拉萨健康科学研究会分会。 诚然,USLS会让人们梦想成真。
Johnny O. Cabanias 博士
教务长
菲律宾德拉萨健康科学研究会
USLS是一个培养未来领袖的绝佳平台。我们的学生在参加USLS之后会以更大的热情来服务社区。 我认为USLS是一个培养青少年成为富有热情的全球公民的最佳平台。
Joyce Teo Siew Yean 博士
副校长(全球事务)
文莱大学
As educators, we are preparing the next generation of leaders to work towards solving the world’s most complicated problems. The motivational speakers, breakout sessions focused on the UN Sustainable Development Goals, and the hands-on service project at the University Scholars Leadership Symposium stood out to me as a unique and globally-focused leadership development opportunity. Miami University’s students were energized from networking with peers from around the world and appreciated the opportunities for self-reflection and service. We look forward to participating in USLS for many years to come.
Ms. Karla Guinigundo
Director of Global Partnerships
Global Initiatives
Miami University, Ohio, USA
香港理工大学很高兴能够与英国人道主义事务协会香港分会共同主办第六届大学生领导力座谈会。 看到世界各地这么多年轻人济济一堂,带着热情和专注,学习如何成为有社会责任感的领袖,真是一件振奋人心的事情。

教育不仅仅在于授业(知识或专业技术),还在于传道(价值观和态度)。 我在你们身上寄予了很高的期望,希望你们成为我们未来世界急缺的公民,不仅事业上风生水起,也能担负起社会责任。 祝愿你们未来事业有成,为共建美好世界贡献一份力量。
Professor Timothy W. Tong
校长
香港理工大学

What's New :
                 
0
academics

International opportunities that bring students together to share both academically and socially are limited. The University Scholars Leadership Symposium is a great opportunity for our student leaders to learn, widen perspectives of society and explore how to change it positively. Humanitarian Affairs thanks all our stakeholders for making this annual Symposium possible and enabling the students to get lifetime leadership experiences. Humanitarian Affairs also appreciates the skills acquired by the students that will enable them identify and utilize opportunities to make significant changes in the community. Cooperation and peaceful participation have been wonderful and indispensable skills. These skills ensured University Scholars Leadership Symposium delegates carried the Humanitarian Affair spirit with them when they graduated from this Leadership in Social Change Program.

The University Scholars Leadership Symposium (USLS) provides a wonderful opportunity for students to learn about, and understand, their potential as agents of change in an international context. A University committed to a model of global practice-oriented learning, UTS has sent 55 students to participate in the Symposium to date, and we will continue to send our students to USLS as part of their journey to become future leaders.
Professor William Purcell
Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President
University of Technology Sydney, Australia
This symposium stuck out to me as it seemed to be one that would enable our students to learn and grow as servant leaders dedicated to solving the issues our world is facing and actually cause them to act. FAU is continually looking for ways to build on our leadership platform and is passionate about developing leaders who are capable of thinking globally.

The 2015 International Leadership Symposium did not let us down. The students had an experience that included many opportunities for critical thinking regarding real world issues that will serve as sustainable life tools for years to come.

Our students have shared what they learned with our student body and are constantly looking for ways to be engaged role models. Giving the exciting and enriching environment at FAU, I am confident our students will put what they learned into action. The University Scholars Leadership Symposium (USLS) provides a wonderful opportunity for students to learn about, and understand, their potential as agents of change in an international context. A University committed to a model of global practice-oriented learning, UTS has sent 55 students to participate in the Symposium to date, and we will continue to send our students to USLS as part of their journey to become future leaders.
Dr. Corey A. King,
Vice President for Student Affairs
Florida Atlantic University, USA
What is the most important thing to be a leader? It is not a question of how to be a leader or what kind of skills we need to be a leader, but it is about for what we exercise our leadership. In my opinion, it is not for ourselves, but for the others, and more importantly, for our society. I am talking about social responsibility of the leaders. ‘Our society’ is not referred to only our country, but it is extended to global community and all mankind.

The USLS did not provide the young student leaders from around the world with only the skills of being leader, but also the social responsibility. The Symposium delivered experiences and inspiration from many international esteemed leaders who have utilized their leadership to help people and to make our society and the world better. More importantly, it was the process of activity-based learning to understand, to analyse, to plan and to act to solve problems in our society.

And the most wonderful outcome was the participants can learn from each other. Not only can the student leaders learn, but also I learned, with amusement. And that made the USLS the best and the most enjoyable symposium I had attended over the past few years.
Prof. Dr. Prinya Thaewanarumitkul
Vice Rector for Student Affairs
Thammasat University, Thailand
At the University of Newcastle, Australia, we believe that empowering our students to become global citizens and future leaders is how we’ll solve the challenges facing tomorrow’s world. The University Scholars Leadership Symposium was a wonderful experience for our students – it inspired them to continue to strive to be such leaders, and provided the opportunity to build the global networks that will help them along the way.
Professor Caroline McMillen
Vice-Chancellor and President
The University of Newcastle, Australia
My participation as a faculty observer in the University Scholars Leadership Symposium has been an experience of a lifetime. I have come to witness peoples from different cultures, different religions and different races, working together, living together, and loving together; peoples from various nations and various languages unified by the common spirit of giving, loving, sharing, caring, and cooperating and raring to become their own persons.

In this symposium, I had an awesome experience of learning new things, meeting good friends, building and nurturing relationships, and creating networks with faculty observers from other universities; as well as visiting wonderful locations and enjoying places of interest in the host country. My wish is for more people to learn and share the same wonderful opportunities and amazing experiences I had. You, too, can have your chance to live the USLS experience.
Mr. Severino P. Pader
Vice-President for Student Services
Technological Institute of the Philippines, Philippines
University Scholars Leadership Symposium organised by Humanitarian Affairs is an amazing event that brings together hundreds of young people from across the world to focus on some of the most urgent and significant challenges faced by humanity. It is an excellent opportunity for the youth to be exposed to such demanding issues in an enabling and informative environment in which they can build lasting friendships with each other.

For building peaceful societies in the future, the world needs such initiatives as USLS and Coventry University is a proud participant of this process over the last six years. When I took 19 Coventry University students from 12 different countries to the 6th USLS in Hong Kong, I was hugely impressed with the impact that the symposium had on them and their perceptions of the world of humanitarian affairs. Many thanks for making this happen year after year and look forward to the next USLS.
Professor Alpaslan Ozerdem
Director of the Centre for Peace and Reconciliation Studies
Coventry University, United Kingdom
The Symposium has shifted paradigms, broadened perspectives and opened up the minds of the NTU students, not only in the sphere of humanitarian work, but also in their awareness and contemplation of the needs and pressing issues facing the world today. Our students are deeply inspired by speakers who brought with them the cumulative wealth of their experience in social causes that have made real impact to lives around the world - and greatly encouraged that "no one is too small to make a difference”. Their biggest takeaway: that humility and grit, constantly keeping the motivations in check, whilst upholding moral and ethical integrity throughout - are keys to efficacious and sustainable social causes. A number of them have begun exploring how they can serve, starting from their immediate communities.
Professor Teoh Swee Hin
Chair, School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Universiti Utara Malaysia has participated in several University Scholars Leadership Symposiums and all have brought positive impacts on our participants.

The recently concluded symposium in Hong Kong was truly a life time experience for 15 Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM) students, representing a country that is attributed with its success in propagating multi-culturalism and multi-lingualism. Indeed, the Hong Kong experience put to rest the notion that life is all but easy and although you are blessed with peace and harmony, nothing should be taken for granted.

In all the past USLS, which we have participated, it was all well organised. The USLS had exposed our students to many facets of life experiences. Had we not been given the opportunity to participate and interact with the other international participants from many countries and also the local community, their perception about the roles and the impact they would make in the society after completing their studies at UUM, would be misguided and short-lived.

Natasha Adilah quipped, “I learned so much about being focussed and to stay true to your set aims.” On the issue of social diaspora, Choo Weng Loon was touched by the issue of misconception and treatment of people with physical disability discussed in one of the parallel seminars. On the whole, the symposium had provided our students with knowledge and exposure that was unique and would not be the same elsewhere. Nor Amalina Aliyas lamented, “Although the symposium was held for several days, it felt so short because we were fully involved in many of the activities organised.” The group graduated from the USLS as better people, with wonderful memories and well learnt experiences.
Abdul Malek Abdul Karim
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni)
Universiti Utara Malaysia
The University Scholars Leadership Symposium has influenced many students over the years, some learnt knew knowledge, made new friends, inspired and supported each other, were supported while being accountable and cheering others towards their best. They have learned that those who exhibit excellence rarely see themselves as exceptional and they seem unaware of the difference they have made in others. These are people with a positive outlook, personal integrity and vocational faithfulness at the core of their being. They are less occupied with visible results than with substantive relationships grounded in mutual respect and love. The University Scholars Leadership Symposium is certainly a platform where Taylor's Business School will be committed to participating for years to come.
Vinitha Padmanabhan Guptan
Dean of college
Taylor College, Malaysia
I was able to attend the University Scholars Leadership Symposium in Hong Kong with my students. All my students have told me that they have learnt so much from this extra-ordinary experiences that they would love to attend it again.

USLS is a wonderful platform for youth to connect to the world and to understand culture, religion, and ideas from different parts of the world.
Jeffrey J.P. Tsai, Ph.D.
President
Asia University, Taiwan
It is such a wonderful opportunity for me to have been part of the USLS in my capacity as a faculty observer. Both my experiences at the USLS in Thailand and the USLS in Indonesia have been great.

I have seen how the delegates from all over the world have been transformed into more responsible members of the community. I have also witnessed how our scholar-delegates have developed their leadership skills. In fact, they have been able to establish the Humanitarian Affairs De La Salle Health Sciences Institute Chapter. Indeed, the University Scholars Leadership Symposium makes one’s dreams happen.
Dr. Johnny O. Cabanias
Director for Academic Services
De La Salle Health Sciences Institute, Philippines
The University Scholars Leadership Symposium is an excellent platform for empowering future leaders. Our students came back from the Symposium with much enthusiasm to serve the communities in need. I believe USLS is an excellent platform to nurture our youths into a compassionate global citizen.
Dr. Joyce Teo Siew Yean
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Vice President (Global Affairs)
Universiti Brunei Darussalam
The students had an amazing time at University Scholars Leadership Symposium, thanks for all your work there! From our perspective, the USLS has been absolutely fantastic – the students that we’ve sent have no only found the experience inspirational and enjoyable while attending, but they have returned to Australia with a new perspective that has lead them to promote real, positive change in their communities.
Mr. Paul Kneebone
Student Leadership Volunteer Program
Swinburne University, Australia
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University has the great pleasure of co-organising the 6th University Scholars Leadership Symposium with the Humanitarian Affairs, United Kingdom in Hong Kong. It was truly heartening to see so many young people from around the world gathered together with such enthusiasm and dedication to learn how to be socially responsible leaders.

Education is not only about knowledge or expertise, it is also about attitudes and values. I have high hopes for you all to become the citizens of tomorrow our world urgently need – professionally successful and socially responsible. I wish you all the best with your future endeavours and to make our world a better place to live in.
Professor Timothy W. Tong
President
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University